smart Helios develops digital solutions for the
needs of patients and family members.

who we are

smart Helios develops digital solutions for patients and their family members. We are a spin-off from Helios Kliniken, Europe’s leading private hospital group.

We are independent, work collaboratively in an agile way, and we take pride in cultivating strong user-centricity. Security, data protection and evidence-based medicine are our core competencies.

The future belongs to patient-centred medicine which focuses on maintaining good health. Digital technologies are key enablers to achieve this.

With our team, Helios’ network of hospitals and helios.hub, we are well-positioned to bring digital health technologies to patients and to achieve measurable medical benefits.

what we do

Our work focuses on applications for patients and their relatives. Currently, we are focusing on two main areas:

hello, our patient portal, enables patients to communicate with the hospital digitally, securely and in compliance with data protection regulations. Our unique data protection concept, which is coordinated with the supervisory authorities, forms the basis for further development of features such as appointment bookings, the collection of clinical follow-up data or the integration of vital data. The access to treatment documents is already possible today in a pilot clinic in Berlin. We work under high pressure on the new product version, which will then be rolled out in other Helios clinics.

digital aftercare to enable discharged patients to access a sustainable orientation on what to do in order to regain or maintain their health as much as possible. This will include training plans, nutritional advice, and medical monitoring.

why us?

In Germany, digital health exists mostly on PowerPoint slides. Unclear data protection requirements, bureaucracy, insufficient access to capital and vested interests prevent innovation. Moreover, frequent poor market-fits and inadequate evidence basis puts the value of many “innovations” into question.

As in other industries, Champions and Challengers meet. We believe that we can activate the right mix of competencies and partners to finally bring innovations to the patient. Making digital health a success does not depend solely on cultivating the right vision, but on the ability to get from A to Z.

Only cooperation between clinics, smart helios and start-ups will allow patients access to innovations.

Find out more about the helios.hub here …

smart Helios entwickelt digitale Lösungen rund um
die Bedürfnisse von Patienten und Angehörigen.

wir sind

smart Helios entwickelt digitale Lösungen für Patienten und ist ein spin-off der Helios Kliniken, Europas führendem privaten Krankenhausbetreiber.

Wir sind eigenständig, arbeiten agil und nutzerzentriert. Sicherheit, Datenschutz und Medizin gehören zu unseren Kernkompetenzen.

Die Zukunft gehört der patientenzentrierten Medizin, die sich auf die Erhaltung der Gesundheit konzentriert. Digitalisierung ist der Schlüssel dazu.

Mit unserem Team, dem Netzwerk der Helios Kliniken und dem helios.hub sind wir optimal positioniert, um digital health gemeinsam mit Partnern zum Patienten zu bringen und messbaren medizinischen Nutzen zu realisieren.

was wir tun

Im Fokus unserer Arbeit stehen Anwendungen für Patienten und Angehörige. Aktuell verfolgen wir zwei Schwerpunkte:

hello, unser Patientenportal, ermöglicht Patienten, digital, sicher und datenschutzkonform mit dem Krankenhaus zu kommunizieren. Ein einzigartiges, mit den Aufsichtsbehörden abgestimmtes Datenschutzkonzept ist die Basis für die weitere Entwicklung von Features wie Terminbuchung, Erhebung medizinischer Nachsorgedaten oder Integration von Vitaldaten. Schon heute ist in der Testklinik Berlin der Zugriff auf die Behandlungsdokumente möglich, wir arbeiten unter Hochdruck an der neuen Produktversion, die dann in andere Helios Kliniken ausgerollt wird.

digitale Nachsorge, damit Patienten, die aus dem Krankenhaus entlassen werden, eine nachhaltige Orientierung bekommen, was sie tun können, um die Gesundheit nach Möglichkeit wiederzuerlangen oder zu erhalten. Das wird Trainingspläne, Ernährungstipps und ärztliches Monitoring umfassen.

warum wir?

Digital Health existiert in Deutschland meist nur auf Powerpoint-Folien. Unklare Datenschutzanforderungen, Bürokratie, mangelnde Investitionsbereitschaft und Besitzstandswahrung verhindern Innovationen. Und neben oftmals schlechtem Market-fit häufig auch mangelnde Evidenz vieler „Innovationen“.

Wie in anderen Branchen treffen Champions und Challenger aufeinander. Wir glauben, dass wir die richtige Mischung aus Kompetenzen und Partnern aktivieren, um Innovationen endlich zum Patienten zu bringen. Digital health zum Erfolg zu bringen hängt nicht allein an der richtigen Vision, sondern an der Fähigkeit, von A nach Z zu kommen.

Erst die Kooperation von Kliniken, smart Helios und Start-ups wird Patienten den Zugriff auf Innovationen ermöglich.

Hier mehr über den helios.hub erfahren…